Core Competencies

Good Afternoon!

As many people know, being healthy encompasses a wide range well-being that includes physical health, mental health, and emotional health. It is very important, yet difficult, to find a good balance between these aspects that allows the optimal amount of health, well-being and happiness. Along with this knowledge, I have also been taught that no matter who you are, what you do or how good you are at something, there is alway room for improvement and that no else is going to change your life for you.

I have decided that I need to improve my own mental and emotional well-being. I am prone to getting overly emotional about little things that are, in the long-run, very unimportant, and I get stressed out about things quickly. The hard part is figuring out where to start personal improvement.

Like when I began my journey on nutritional health, the best place I know to start is with books. They can tell you so much, and help point you in the right direction.  I have read several books, and one that has stood out to me the most thus far is called 68 Hours, by Laura Vanderkam. This books discusses the concept of time – along with the misconception that most people feel they do not have enough time in the day to spend any amount of time doing what they want to do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Laura talks about successful individuals, and how they spend their time doing tasks that align with their core competencies Core competencies are the things that someone is good at and that they enjoy to do. Successful people also don’t spend their time doing things that they don’t deem to be a priority.

I have a HUGE problem with procrastination. I have decided that it needs to stop – because I can’t continue being stressed and behind on life because of it. I feel like I’m missing out on life because the time I spend procrastinating is spent doing tasks that do not align with my core competencies – such as watching movies, playing games, surfing the internet etc.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Therefore, I decided to start with determining what my core competencies are, and in doing this I learned that I am very much in the process of developing my core competencies. The picture above is what I have currently come up with – and I’m sure they will be constantly changing in future years.

Main goal: to better plan my time so that I spend more of it doing the things that I enjoy – my core competencies, and spend less time doing aimless tasks like playing games and watching t.v.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

